VCU Massey Cancer Center

Menu

Who we are

The CTO staff are organized in teams based on the responsibilities of the team (for example, study activation) or on the type of study (for example, early phase solid tumor IIT), type of research (for example, Cancer Prevention and Control), type of cancer (for example, breast, hematologic malignancies), or on the type of cancer treatment (for example, radiation oncology). Links to alphabetical listing of CTO staff and listings of CTO teams are provided below.

Alphabetical listing of CTO leadership and staff
Activation team
Bone marrow transplant
Breast cancer, a.k.a. “The Pink Team”
Cancer Care Delivery Research (CCDR)
Cancer prevention and control 
Cardio Oncology
Clinical research affiliation network
Clinical research patient support services
Clinical Trials Office
Compliance
Gynecologic/GU oncology
Hematologic malignancies, early phase investigator initiated trials (HIIT)
Hematologic malignancies
IIT program
Pediatric oncology
Clinical trial development and program management
Protocol review and monitoring committee (PRMC)
Radiation oncology
Regulatory affairs
Research nursing and data management
Solid tumors, early phase investigator initiated trials (SIIT)
Solid tumors (MEDONC)
Training and development

 

Alphabetical listing

Abston, Elizabeth, B.S.
Clinical research coordinator
(804) 628-4363
ecabston@vcu.edu

Archer, Giovanni
Clinical research associate I
(804) 628-4122
garcher2@vcu.edu

Baker, Kristen, B.S., C.C.R.P.
Clinical research activation coordinator
(804) 628-2341
kbaker2@vcu.edu

Biamonte, Johanna, C.C.R.P.
Clinical trials reporting specialist
(804) 628-1889
jbiamonte@vcu.edu

Bodine, Kristen, R.N., B.S.N.
Clinical research nurse coordinator
(804) 628-5273
klbodine@vcu.edu

Brooks, Constance
Compliance specialist I
(804) 628-1953 or pager *600-2716
clbrooks@vcu.edu

Brown, Catherine, C.C.R.P.
Director, training and development
(804) 628-4931
crbrown@vcu.edu

Calandrino, Nichole, B.S.N., R.N.
Clinical research nurse coordinator
(804) 628-2204 or pager *600-4409
calandrinn@vcu.edu

Campbell, Kristin, C.C.R.P.
Director, data management and affiliate network
(804) 628-1914 or pager *600-6622
klcampbell@vcu.edu

Candler, Kathryn, M.A., C.C.R.P.
Clinical research coordinator II
(804) 828-4732 or pager *600-6405
kcandler@vcu.edu

Chirico, Jenifer
Regulatory affairs coordinator
(804) 628-0829
jchirico@vcu.edu

Chowdhury, Nadia, B.S., C.C.R.P.
Clinical research associate I
(804) 828-0844
chowdhuryn@vcu.edu

Civils, Jason (Adam)
Regulatory affairs coordinator
(804) 828-6783
civilsja@vcu.edu

Cox, Mallory, B.S.
Clinical research associate
(804) 628-0742
coxm5@vcu.edu

Cullen, Lia, R.N., B.S.N., O.C.N.
Clinical research nurse coordinator
(804) 628-6422 or pager *600-4001
cullenlc@vcu.edu

Dennis, Phyllis
Clinical research insurance and data coordinator
(804) 828-9106 or pager *600-2316
pdennis@vcu.edu

Donovan, Carrie, R.N., B.S.N., C.C.R.P.
Clinical research nurse coordinator
(804) 628-3836 or pager *600-4721
cdonovan2@vcu.edu

Feldt, Patricia, C.C.R.P.
Training and education manager
(804) 628-1902
pafeldt@vcu.edu

Forsythe, Karen
Executive coordinator
(804) 628-6435
kgforsythe@vcu.edu

Foster, Emily, C.C.R.P.
Regulatory affairs specialist II
(804) 628-0932
grissomeb@vcu.edu

Garnett, Amanda, R.N., B.S.N., O.C.N., C.C.R.P.
Director, clinical research nursing
(804) 628-6430 or pager *600-4766
agarnett@vcu.edu

Garnett, Kimberly, R.N., B.S.N.
Clinical research nurse coordinator
(804) 628-5810 or pager *600-3756
garnettkm@vcu.edu

Geyer E., Charles, Jr., M.D., F.A.C.P.
Associate director for clinical research
Professor, internal medicine
(804) 628-6435
cegeyer@vcu.edu

Godek, Julia, B.B.A, M.L.T. (ASCP)
Scientific review coordinator
(804) 628-8480
jlgodek@vcu.edu

Griffin, Charmaine
Regulatory affairs coordinator
(804) 628-6487
griffinc3@vcu.edu

Gwaltney, Lindsey, M.S., R.N., C.C.R.P.
Clinical research nurse coordinator
(804) 628-2112 or pager *600-4714
lbgwaltney@vcu.edu

Hall, Charles, M.S., C.C.R.P.
Clinical research associate I
(804) 628-9748 or pager *600-2224
hallce3@vcu.edu

Hamilton, Melanie, R.N., B.S.N., C.C.R.P.
Clinical research nurse coordinator
(804) 628-2681 or pager *600-3081
mrhamilton2@vcu.edu

Hendrix, Amber, C.C.R.P.
Multicenter investigator-initiated trial project manager
(804) 628-1924
hendrixal@vcu.edu

Hicks, LaVern
Administrative coordinator
(804) 628-1904
lhicks@vcu.edu

Hoekstra, Alyssa
Regulatory affairs coordinator
(804) 828-2349
hoekstraa@vcu.edu

Holloway, Adriane, R.N., O.C.N., C.C.R.P.
Clinical research nurse coordinator
(434) 447-0879
aholloway4@vcu.edu

Howard, Jennifer, M.C.S.A.
Clinical trials management system analyst & administrator
(804) 628-3247
jhoward24l@vcu.edu

Hudson, Daniel, C.C.R.P.
Senior clinical research coordinator, IIT program
(804) 628-2682
djhudson@vcu.edu

Hunt, Wanda
Affiliate network manager
(804) 628-2086
wshunt@vcu.edu

Idris, Samantha, B.S.
Clinical research associate I
(804) 828-4980
sidris@vcu.edu

Infante, Rebecca, B.S., C.C.R.C.
OnCore analyst
(804) 828-1426
rinfante@vcu.edu

Johnson, Alexia, B.S.
Clinical research associate I
(804) 628-0348
ajohnson84@vcu.edu

Johnson, Laura, R.N.
Clinical research nurse coordinator
(804) 628-6233
johnsonlh3@vcu.edu

Jones, Kassandra, B.S.
Clinical research associate I
(804) 827-6356
kvjones@vcu.edu

Knight, Nicole
Clinical research activation coordinator
(804) 828-5773 or page *600-6757
nknight@vcu.edu

Kungu, Maryanne, C.C.R.P.
Clinical research coordinator
(804) 628-0742
mkungu@vcu.edu

Lantis, Kristin, R.N., C.C.R.P.
Clinical research nurse coordinator
(804) 828-2177 or page *600-2067
kllantis@vcu.edu

Lee, Shauna
Clinical research associate I
(804) 628-1912
sdlee2@vcu.edu

Loney, Shenise, B.S.N., R.N.
Clinical research nurse coordinator
(804) 828-0113
loneys2@vcu.edu

Loyall, Pamela, R.N., M.S.N.
Clinical research nurse coordinator
(804) 628-2667 or pager *600-8517
ployall@vcu.edu

Madu, Mary, B.S., C.C.R.C.
Clinical research coordinator
(804) 628-5320
memadu@vcu.edu

Matin, Khalid, M.D., F.A.C.P.
Medical director, community oncology & clinical research affiliations
(804) 628-2945
kmatin@vcu.edu

McFadden, Faith, R.N.
Clinical research nurse coordinator
(804) 628-0616 or pager *600-6677
mcfaddenfr@vcu.edu

Mpyisi, Lydiah, B.S.
Clinical research associate I
(804) 628-2622
mpyisil@vcu.edu

Parker, Gwendolyn, M.S., F.N.P.-C., C.C.R.P.
Clinical research nurse practitioner
(804) 828-5090 or pager *600-4245
ggparker@vcu.edu

Reidelbach, Erin, B.S., R.N.
Clinical research nurse coordinator
(804) 628-1893 or pager *600-4108
ejreidelbach@vcu.edu

Roberts, Catherine, Ph.D.
BMT clinical research manager
(804) 828-1292 or pager *600-6172
croberts2@vcu.edu

Rollins, April, B.S., C.C.R.P.
Compliance specialist II
(804) 628-5222
deanad@vcu.edu

Rosenberg, Beth, M.S. 
Senior activation team manager
(804) 628-0137
earosenb@vcu.edu

Ryan, Alison, R.N., M.S.N., A.O.C.N., A.P.R.N.-B.C.
Clinical research nurse practitioner
(804) 628-1936 or pager *600-4107
ryanaa@vcu.edu

Schirmer, Dennis, B.S.
Clinical research associate I
(804) 628-1889 or pager *600-6016
schirmerda@vcu.edu

Schirmer, Tricia, C.C.R.P.
Manager, regulatory affairs
(804) 628-2135
tschirmer@vcu.edu

Schmidt, Kathryn, M.A.
Regulatory affairs coordinator
(804) 628-2313
kschmidt6@vcu.edu

Scott, Megan
Clinical research associate I
(804) 628-6427
scottma2@vcu.edu

Secosky, Juellisa, C.C.R.C., C.R.A.
Assistant director, clinical research administration
(804) 628-6812
jasecosky@vcu.edu

Shaver, Nichole
Clinical research associate I
(804) 827-0734
nshave@vcu.edu

Shrader, Ellen, M.S., C.C.R.P.
Assistant director, IIT program
(804) 628-3746 or pager *600-2592
shraderee@vcu.edu

Smith, Debbie, C.C.R.P.
Senior compliance specialist
(804) 628-1894
dtsmith@vcu.edu

Smolenski, Terry, C.C.R.C.
Director, regulatory affairs and compliance
(804) 628-2142
tsmolenski@vcu.edu

Thompson, Katherine (Katie), R.N.
Clinical research nurse coordinator
(804) 628-0960
kthompson25@vcu.edu

Toft, Robin
Clinical research coordinator I
(804) 628-0282
rtoft@vcu.edu

Tombes, Mary Beth, R.N., M.N., C.C.R.C., A.C.N.P.-B.C.
Director, IIT program
Clinical research nurse practitioner
(804) 628-1357 or pager *600-6013
mtombes@vcu.edu

Wade, Antoinette
Senior clinical research associate II 
(804) 628-1886 or pager *600-3316
abrown32@vcu.edu

Washington, Sonya, M.S., R.N.
Clinical research nurse coordinator
(804) 628-2582 or pager *600-6579
slwashington@vcu.edu

Weir, Caryn, R.N., M.T. (A.S.C.P.), M.P.H.
Clinical research nurse coordinator
(804) 628-2310 or pager *600-4529
cweir@vcu.edu

Wellons, Martha, C.C.R.P.
Director, protocol development & program management
(804) 628-1939
mwellons@vcu.edu

Whelan, Douglas
Clinical research associate I
(804) 628-5921
dswhelan@vcu.edu

Whitaker, Brooke, B.S.
Clinical research associate I
(804) 628-1895
whitakerba@vcu.edu

Williams, Kimberly, R.N.
Clinical research nurse coordinator
(804) 628-2667
kwilliam@vcu.edu

Wilson, Christina, R.N., B.S.N.
Clinical research nurse coordinator
(804) 628-1930 or pager *600-4370
cwilson@vcu.edu

Womack, Sarah, C.C.R.P.
Clinical research coordinator
(804) 628-4519
srwomack@vcu.edu

Back to top

 

Activation team

MasseyActPM@vcu.edu

Beth Rosenberg, M.S.
Senior activation team manager
(804) 628-0137
earosenb@vcu.edu

Kristen Baker, B.S., C.C.R.P.
Clinical research activation coordinator
(804) 628-2341
kbaker2@vcu.edu

Nicole Knight
Clinical research activation coordinator
(804) 828-5773 or page *600-6757
nknight@vcu.edu

 Back to top

 

Bone marrow transplant

Kathryn Candler, M.A., C.C.R.P.
Clinical research coordinator II
(804) 828-4732 or pager *600-6405
kcandler@vcu.edu

Catherine Roberts, Ph.D.
BMT clinical research manager
(804) 828-1292 or pager *600-6726
croberts2@vcu.edu

Charles Hall, M.S., C.C.R.P.
Clinical research associate I
(804) 628-9748 or pager *600-2224
hallce3@vcu.edu

 

Back to top

Breast cancer, a.k.a. “The Pink Team”

masseyctbrst@vcu.edu

Kimberly Garnett, R.N., B.S.N.
Clinical research nurse coordinator
(804) 628-5810 or pager *600-3756
garnettkm@vcu.edu

Kassandra Jones, B.S.
Clinical research associate I
(804) 827-6356
kvjones@vcu.edu

Back to top

Cancer Care Delivery Research (CCDR)

Andrew Barnes, Ph.D.
Associate professor, Health Behavior and Policy
(804) 827-4361
andrew.barnes@vcuhealth.org

Maryanne Kungu, C.C.R.P.
Clinical research coordinator
(804) 628-0742
mkungu@vcu.edu

Back to top

Cancer prevention and control

masseycpc@vcu.edu

Gwendolyn Parker, M.S., F.N.P.-C., C.C.R.P.
Clinical research nurse practitioner
(804) 828-5090 or pager *600-4245 
ggparker@vcu.edu

Kimberly Williams, R.N., BSN
Clinical research nurse coordinator
(804) 628-2667
kwilliam@vcu.edu

Douglas Whelan
Clinical research associate I
(804) 628-5921
dswhelan@vcu.edu

Shauna Lee
Clinical research associate I
(804) 628-1912
sdlee2@vcu.edu

Back to top

 

Cardio oncology

Laura Johnson, R.N.
Clinical research nurse coordinator
(804) 628-6233
johnsonlh3@vcu.edu

Elizabeth Abston, B.S.
Clinical research coordinator
(804) 628-4363
ecabston@vcu.edu

 

Back to top

 

Clinical research affiliate network

Khalid Matin, M.D., F.A.C.P.
Medical director, community oncology & clinical research affiliations
(804) 628-2945
kmatin@vcu.edu

Kristin Campbell, C.C.R.P.
Director, data management and affiliate network
(804) 628-1914 or pager *600-6622
klcampbell@vcu.edu

Wanda Hunt
Affiliate network manager
(804) 628-2086
wshunt@vcu.edu

Antoinette Wade
Senior clinical research associate II 
(804) 628-1886 or pager *600-3316
abrown32@vcu.edu

Back to top

 

Clinical research patient support services

Phyllis Dennis
Clinical research insurance and data coordinator
(804) 828-9106 or pager *600-2316
pdennis@vcu.edu

Back to top

Clinical Trials Office

Charles E. Geyer, Jr., M.D., F.A.C.P.
Professor, internal medicine
Associate director of clinical research
(804) 628-6435
cegeyer@vcu.edu

Karen Forsythe
Executive coordinator
(804) 628-6435
kgforsythe@vcu.edu

Back to top

Compliance

MasseyAudit@vcu.edu

Terry Smolenski, C.C.R.C.
Director, regulatory affairs & compliance
(804) 628-2142
tsmolenski@vcu.edu

Debbie Smith, C.C.R.P.
Senior compliance specialist
(804) 628-1894
dtsmith@vcu.edu

April Rollins, B.S., C.C.R.P.
Compliance specialist II
(804) 628-5222
deanad@vcu.edu

Constance Brooks
Compliance specialist I
(804) 628-1953 or pager *600-2716
clbrooks@vcu.edu

Back to top

 

Gynecologic/GU oncology

masseygynonc@vcu.edu

Sonya Washington, M.S., R.N.
Clinical research nurse coordinator
(804) 628-2582 or pager *600-6579
slwashington@vcu.edu

Shenise Loney, B.S.N., R.N.
Clinical research nurse coordinator
(804) 828-0113
loneys2@vcu.edu

Phyllis Dennis
Clinical research insurance and data coordinator
(804) 828-9106 or pager *600-2316
pdennis@vcu.edu

 

Back to top

 

Hematologic malignancies, early phase (HIIT)

(804) 628-5006
Fax (804) 827-2026
MasseyHIIT@vcu.edu

Caryn Weir, R.N., M.T. (A.S.C.P.), M.P.H.
Clinical research nurse coordinator
(804) 628-2310 or pager *600-4529
cweir@vcu.edu

Giovanni Archer
Clinical research associate I
(804) 628-1422
garcher2@vcu.edu

Samantha Idris, B.S.
Clinical research associate I
(804) 828-4980
sidris@vcu.edu

Back to top

 

Hematologic malignancies 

FAX (804) 827-2027
masseyhemmlg@vcu.edu

Melanie Hamilton, R.N., B.S.N.
Clinical research nurse coordinator
(804) 628-6434 or pager *600-3081
mrhamilton2@vcu.edu

Kristin Lantis, R.N., C.C.R.P.
Clinical research nurse coordinator
(804) 828-2177 or page *600-2067
kllantis@vcu.edu

Brooke Whitaker, B.S.
Clinical research associate I
(804) 628-1895
whitakerba@vcu.edu

Megan Scott
Clinical research associate I
(804) 628-6427
scottma2@vcu.edu

Back to top

 

IIT Program

Mary Beth Tombes, R.N., M.N., C.C.R.C., A.C.N.P.-B.C.
Director, IIT program
Clinical research nurse practitioner
(804) 628-1357 or pager *600-6013
mtombes@vcu.edu

Ellen Shrader, M.S., C.C.R.P.
Assistant director, IIT program
(804) 628-3746 or pager *600-2592
shraderee@vcu.edu

Daniel Hudson, C.C.R.P.
Senior clinical research coordinator, IIT program
(804) 628-2682
djhudson@vcu.edu

Back to top

 

Pediatric oncology

(804) 628-2112
masseypedonc@vcu.edu

Lindsey Gwaltney, M.S., R.N., C.C.R.P.
Clinical research nurse coordinator
(804) 628-2112 or pager *600-4714
lbgwaltney@vcu.edu

Mary Madu, B.S., C.C.R.C.
Clinical research coordinator
(804) 628-5320
memadu@vcu.edu

Dennis Schirmer, B.S.
Clinical research associate I
(804) 628-1889 or pager *600-6016
schirmerda@vcu.edu

 

Back to top

 

Clinical trial development and program management

Martha Wellons, C.C.R.P.
Director, clinical trial development & program management
(804) 628-1939
mwellons@vcu.edu

Kristen Baker, B.S., C.C.R.P.
Clinical research activation coordinator
(804) 628-2341
kbaker2@vcu.edu

Johanna Biamonte, C.C.R.P.
Clinical trials reporting specialist
(804) 628-1889
jbiamonte@vcu.edu

Julia Godek, B.B.A, M.L.T. (ASCP)
Scientific review coordinator
(804) 628-8480
jlgodek@vcu.edu

Amber Hendrix, C.C.R.P.
Multicenter investigator-initiated trial project manager
(804) 628-1924
hendrixal@vcu.edu

LaVern Hicks
Administrative coordinator
(804) 628-1904
lhicks@vcu.edu

Nicole Knight
Clinical research activation coordinator
(804) 828-5773 or page *600-6757
nknight@vcu.edu

Beth Rosenberg, M.S. 
Senior activation team manager
(804) 628-0137
earosenb@vcu.edu

Rebecca Infante, B.S., C.C.R.C.
OnCore analyst
(804) 828-1426
rinfante@vcu.edu

Back to top

 

Protocol Review and Monitoring Committee (PRMC)

MasseyPRMS@vcu.edu

Harry D. Bear, M.D., Ph.D.
Chairperson, PRMC
(804) 828-9325
hdbear@vcu.edu

Martha Wellons, C.C.R.P.
Director, clinical trial development & program management
(804) 628-1939
mwellons@vcu.edu

Julia Godek, B.B.A, M.L.T. (ASCP)
Scientific review coordinator
(804) 628-8480
jlgodek@vcu.edu

Suzanne Ameringer, Ph.D. , R.N.
Cancer prevention and control PRMC subcommittee chair
(804) 628-7551
swameringer@vcu.edu

 

Back to top

 

Radiation oncology

MasseyRadOnc@vcu.edu

Pamela Loyall, R.N., M.S.N.
Clinical research nurse coordinator
(804) 628-2667 or pager *600-8517
ployall@vcu.edu

Nichole Calandrino, B.S.N., R.N.
Clinical research nurse coordinator
(804) 628-2204 or pager *600-4409
calandrinn@vcu.edu

Mallory Cox, B.S.
Clinical research associate
(804) 628-0742
coxm5@vcu.edu

 

Back to top

 

Regulatory affairs

MasseyIRB@vcu.edu

Tricia Schirmer, C.C.R.P.
Manager, regulatory affairs
(804) 628-2135
tschirmer@vcu.edu

Emily Foster, C.C.R.P.
Regulatory affairs specialist II
(804) 628-0932
grissomeb@vcu.edu

Jason Civils (Adam)
Regulatory affairs coordinator
(804) 828-6783
civilsja@vcu.edu

Kathryn Schmidt, M.A.
Regulatory affairs coordinator
(804) 628-2313
kschmidt6@vcu.edu

Jenifer Chirico
Regulatory affairs coordinator
(804) 628-0829
jchirico@vcu.edu

Alyssa Hoekstra
Regulatory affairs coordinator
(804) 828-2349
hoekstraa@vcu.edu

Charmaine Griffin
Regulatory affairs coordinator
(804) 628-6487
griffinc3@vcu.edu

 

 

Back to top

 

Research nursing and data management leadership and support

Amanda Garnett, R.N., B.S.N., O.C.N., C.C.R.P.
Director, clinical research nursing
(804) 628-6430 or pager *600-4766
agarnett@vcu.edu

Kristin Campbell, C.C.R.P.
Director, data management & affiliate network
(804) 628-1914 or pager *600-6622
klcampbell@vcu.edu

Antoinette Wade
Senior clinical research associate II 
(804) 628-1886 or pager *600-3316
abrown32@vcu.edu

 

Back to top

 

Solid tumors, early phase investigator initiated trials (SIIT)

(804) 628-9238
FAX (804) 628-4983
masseySIIT@vcu.edu

Alison Ryan, R.N., M.S.N., A.O.C.N., A.P.R.N.-B.C.
Clinical research nurse practitioner
(804) 628-1936 or pager *600-4107
ryanaa@vcu.edu

Katherine (Katie) Thompson, R.N.
Clinical research nurse coordinator
(804) 628-0960
kthompson25@vcu.edu

Kristen Bodine, R.N., B.S.N.
Clinical research nurse coordinator
(804) 628-5273
klbodine@vcu.edu

Erin Reidelbach, B.S., R.N.
Clinical research nurse coordinator
(804) 628-1893 or pager *600-4108
ejreidelbach@vcu.edu

Nichole Shaver
Clinical research associate I
(804) 827-0734
nshave@vcu.edu

Lydiah Mpyisi, B.S.
Clinical research associate I
(804) 628-2622
mpyisil@vcu.edu

Back to top 

 

Solid tumors (MEDONC)

masseyctmdonc@vcu.edu

Faith McFadden, R.N.
Clinical research nurse coordinator
(804) 628-0616 or pager *600-6677
mcfaddenfr@vcu.edu

Carrie Donovan, R.N., B.S.N., C.C.R.P.
Clinical research nurse coordinator
(804) 628-3836 or pager *600-4721
cdonovan2@vcu.edu

Lia Cullen, R.N., B.S.N., O.C.N.
Clinical research nurse coordinator
(804) 628-6422 or pager *600-4001
cullenlc@vcu.edu

Nadia Chowdhury, B.S., C.C.R.P.
Clinical research associate I
(804) 828-0844
chowdhuryn@vcu.edu

Alexia Johnson, B.S.
Clinical research associate I
(804) 628-0348
ajohnson84@vcu.edu

Training and development

Catherine Brown, C.C.R.P.
Director, training and development
(804) 628-4931
crbrown@vcu.edu

Patricia Feldt, A.A.S., C.C.R.P.
Training and education manager
(804) 628-1902
pafeldt@vcu.edu

 

 

Back to top