VCU Massey Cancer Center

Menu

Clinical research contacts

Clinical research personnel at Massey coordinate participation in clinical trials. They establish patient eligibility for a particular study, schedule any required trial-related laboratory tests, procedures and medical appointments and serve as the key contacts for patients and referring physicians throughout the clinical trial.

If you have any questions about clinical trials, please contact one of our experts listed below.


Bone marrow transplant
Breast cancer, a.k.a. “The Pink Team”
Cancer prevention and control 
Gynecologic oncology
Hematologic malignancies, early phase (HIIT)
Hematologic malignancies
IIT Program
Neuro-oncology
Pediatric oncology
Radiation oncology
Solid tumors, early phase (SIIT)
Solid tumors (MEDONC)

 

Bone marrow transplant

(804) 828-4360 BMT Program Main Number at VCU

Kathryn Candler, M.A., C.C.R.P.
Clinical research coordinator II
(804) 828-4732 or pager *600-6405
kcandler@vcu.edu

Catherine Roberts, Ph.D.
BMT clinical research program manager
(804) 828-1292 or pager *600-6726
croberts2@vcu.edu

Charles Hall, M.S., C.C.R.P.
Clinical research associate I
(804) 628-9748 or pager *600-2224
hallce3@vcu.edu

 

Back to top

 

Breast cancer, a.k.a. “The Pink Team”

masseyctbrst@vcu.edu

Kimberly Garnett, R.N., B.S.N.
Clinical research nurse coordinator
(804) 628-5810 or pager *600-3756
garnettkm@vcu.edu

Holly Mallory, R.N., B.S.N.
Clinical research nurse coordinator
(804) 628-5423
wetzelha@vcu.edu

Elizabeth Abston, B.S.
Clinical research associate I
(804) 628-2471
ecabston@vcu.edu

Kassandra Jones, B.S.
Clinical research associate I
(804) 827-6356
kvjones@vcu.edu

 

Back to top

 

Cancer prevention and control

masseycpc@vcu.edu


Gwendolyn Parker, M.S., F.N.P.-C., C.C.R.P.
Clinical research nurse practitioner
(804) 828-5090 or pager *600-4245 
ggparker@vcu.edu

Kimberly Williams, R.N.
Clinical research nurse coordinator
(804) 628-2667
kwilliam@vcu.edu

Douglas Whelan
Clinical research associate I
(804) 628-5921
dswhelan@vcu.edu

Shauna Lee
Clinical research assoicate I
(804) 628-1912
sdlee2@vcu.edu

Back to top

 

Gynecologic oncology

masseygynonc@vcu.edu

Sonya Washington, M.S., R.N.
Clinical research nurse coordinator
(804) 628-2582 or pager *600-6579
slwashington@vcu.edu

Constance Brooks
Clinical research associate II
(804) 628-1953 or pager *600-2716
clbrooks@vcu.edu

Phyllis Dennis
Insurance coordinator/clinical research associate II
(804) 828-9106 or page *600-2316
pdennis@vcu.edu

 

Back to top

 

Hematologic malignancies, early phase (HIIT)

(804) 628-5006
Fax (804) 827-2026

MasseyHIIT@vcu.edu

Caryn Weir, R.N., M.T. (A.S.C.P.), M.P.H.
Clinical research nurse coordinator
(804) 628-2310 or pager *600-4529
cweir@vcu.edu

Karly Rogers, R.N., O.C.N.
Clinical research nurse coordinator
(804) 827-1025 or pager *600-3688
krogers8@vcu.edu

Giovanni Archer
Clinical research associate I
(804) 628-1422
garcher2@vcu.edu

Samantha Idris, B.S.
Clinical research associate I
(804) 828-4980
sidris@vcu.edu

 

Back to top

 

Hematologic malignancies 

FAX (804) 827-2027
masseyhemmlg@vcu.edu

Melanie Hamilton, R.N., B.S.N.
Clinical research nurse coordinator
(804) 628-6434 or pager *600-3081
mrhamilton2@vcu.edu

Kristin Lantis, R.N., C.C.R.P.
Clinical research nurse coordinator
(804) 828-2177 or page *600-2067
kllantis@vcu.edu

Brooke Whitaker, B.S.
Clinical research associate I
(804) 628-1895
whitakerba@vcu.edu

Megan Scott
Clinical research associate I
(804) 628-6427
scottma2@vcu.edu

 

Back to top

IIT program

Mary Beth Tombes, R.S., M.N., C.C.R.C.,A.C.N.P.-B.C.
Director, IIT program
Clinical research nurse practitioner
(804) 628-1357 or pager *600-6013
mtombes@vcu.edu

 

Neuro-oncology

(804) 828-4178

Back to top

 

Pediatric oncology

(804) 628-2112

Lindsey Gwaltney, R.N., C.C.R.P.
Clinical research nurse coordinator
(804) 628-2112 or pager *600-4714
lbgwaltney@vcu.edu

Dennis Schirmer, B.S.
Clinical research associate I
(804) 628-1889 or pager *600-6016
schirmerda@vcu.edu

 

Back to top

 

Radiation oncology

MasseyRadOnc@vcu.edu

Daeryl Williamson, R.N., B.S.N.
Clinical research nurse coordinator
(804) 628-2334 or pager *600-4845
johnsondl4@vcu.edu

Pamela Loyall, R.N., M.S.N.
Clinical research nurse coordinator
(804) 628-2667 or pager *600-8517
ployall@vcu.edu

Maryanne Kungu, C.C.R.P.
Clinical research associate I
(804) 628-0742
mkungu@vcu.edu

 

Back to top

 

Solid tumors, early phase (SIIT)

(804) 628-9238
FAX (804) 628-4983
masseySIIT@vcu.edu

Mary Beth Tombes, R.N., M.N., C.C.R.C., A.C.N.P.-B.C.
Director, IIT program
(804) 628-1357 or pager *600-6013
mtombes@vcu.edu

Alison Ryan, R.N., M.S.N., A.O.C.N., A.P.R.N.-B.C.
Clinical research nurse practitioner
(804) 628-1936 or pager *600-4107
ryanaa@vcu.edu

Katerine (Katie) Thompson, R.N.
Clinical research nurse coordinator
(804) 628-0960
kthompson25@vcu.edu

Kristine Bodine, R.N., B.S.N.
Clinical research nurse coordinator
(804) 628-5273
klbodine@vcu.edu

Erin Reidelbach, R.N.
Clinical research nurse coordinator
(804) 628-1893 or pager *600-4108
ejreidelbach@vcu.edu

Nichole Shaver
Clinical research associate I
(804) 827-0734
nshave@vcu.edu

Lydiah Mpyisi, B.S.
Clinical research associate I
(804) 628-2622
mpyisil@vcu.edu

 

Back to top 

 

Solid tumors (MEDONC)

masseyctmdonc@vcu.edu

Faith McFadden, R.N.
Clinical research nurse coordinator
(804) 628-0616 or pager *600-6677
mcfaddenfr@vcu.edu

Carrie Donovan, R.N., C.C.R.P.
Clinical research nurse coordinator
(804) 628-3836 or pager *600-4721
cdonovan2@vcu.edu

Lia Cullen, R.N., B.S.N., O.C.N.
Clinical research nurse coordinator
(804) 628-6422 or pager *600-4001
msommers@vcu.edu

Nadia Chowdhury, B.S.
Clinical research associate I
(804) 828-0844
chowdhuryn@vcu.edu

Alexia Johnson, B.S.
Clinical research associate I
(804) 628-0348
ajohnson84@vcu.edu

 

 

Back to top