Virginia Commonwealth University

VCU Massey Cancer Center

Leadership team

Director

Gordon D. Ginder, M.D.
Director
Lipman Chair in Oncology
Professor of internal medicine, Hematology, Oncology and Palliative Care
(804) 628-1897
gdginder@vcu.edu

Deputy director

Steven R. Grossman, M.D., Ph.D.
Deputy director
Program co-leader of Developmental Therapeutics (acting)
Dianne Nunnally Hoppes Endowed Chair in Cancer Research
Chair and professor, Hematology, Oncology and Palliative Care
(804) 828-5662
steven.grossman@vcuhealth.org

Associate directors

Douglas W. Arthur, M.D.
Associate director for clinical affairs
Natalie N. and John R. Congdon, Jr. Endowed Chair in Cancer Research
Chair and professor, Radiation Oncology
(804) 828-7232
douglas.arthur@vcuhealth.org

Donna Berrier, M.P.A.
Associate director for administration
Chief administrative officer
(804) 628-1322
dberrier@vcu.edu

Charles Clevenger, M.D., Ph.D.
Associate director for basic research
Carolyn Wingate Hyde Chair in Cancer Research
Chair and professor, Pathology
(804) 828-0183
charles.clevenger@vcuhealth.org

Paul M. Fawcett, Ph.D.
Associate director for shared resources
Director, VCU Research Resources
Assistant professor, Internal Medicine
(804) 827-0975
paul.fawcett@vcuhealth.org

Bernard Fuemmeler, Ph.D.
Associate director for cancer prevention and control
Professor, Department of Health Behavior and Policy
bernard.fuemmeler@vcuhealth.org

Charles Geyer, M.D., F.A.C.P.
Associate director for clinical research
Harrison, Haw, Luck Families Chair in Cancer Research
Professor, Hematology, Oncology and Palliative Care
(804) 628-1094
cegeyer@vcu.edu

Steven Grant, M.D.
Associate director for translational research
Program co-leader of Developmental Therapeutics
Shirley Carter Olsson and Sture Gordon Olsson Chair in Cancer Research
Professor and Eminent Scholar, Hematology, Oncology and Palliative Care
(804) 828-7999
steven.grant@vcuhealth.org

Mary Ann Hager, R.N., M.S.
Associate director for clinical services
Administrator for the oncology business unit, VCU Medical Center
(804) 628-1941
maryann.hager@vcuhealth.org

Devanand Sarkar, M.B.B.S., Ph.D.
Associate director for education and training
Harrison Endowed Scholar in Cancer Research
Associate professor, Human and Molecular Genetics
(804) 827-2339
devanand.sarkar@vcuhealth.org

Vanessa B. Sheppard, Ph.D.
Associate director for disparities research
Program co-leader of Cancer Prevention and Control
Chair and professor, Department of Health Behavior and Policy
vanessa.sheppard@vcuhealth.org