Virginia Commonwealth University

VCU Massey Cancer Center

Clinical research contacts

Clinical research personnel at Massey coordinate participation in clinical trials. They establish patient eligibility for a particular study, schedule any required trial-related laboratory tests, procedures and medical appointments and serve as the key contacts for patients and referring physicians throughout the clinical trial.

If you have any questions about clinical trials, please contact one of our experts listed below.

Alphabetical listing
Activation team
Bone marrow transplant
Breast cancer, a.k.a. “The Pink Team”
Cancer prevention and control 
Clinical research affiliation network
Clinical research patient support services
Compliance
Gynecologic oncology
Hematologic malignancies, early phase (HIIT)
Hematologic malignancies (HEMONC)
Neuro-oncology
Office for Clinical Research
Palliative care
Pediatric oncology
Protocol development and program management
Protocol review and monitoring committee (PRMC)
Radiation oncology
Regulatory affairs
Research nursing and data management
Solid tumors, early phase (SIIT)
Solid tumors (MEDONC)

 

Alphabetical listing

Baggett, Jane, R.N.
Director, clinical research operations and management
(804) 628-2360 or pager *600-4315
jbaggett@vcu.edu

Baker, Kristen, B.S., C.C.R.P.
Protocol start up coordinator
(804) 628-2341
kbaker2@vcu.edu

Bear, Harry D., M.D., Ph.D.
Chairperson, PRMC
(804) 828-9325
harry.bear@vcuhealth.org

Belcher, Trudy, R.N.
Clinical research nurse manager
(804) 628-6434 or pager *600-4244
tbelcher2@vcu.edu

Biamonte, Johanna
Clinical research associate I
(804) 628-1889
jbiamonte@vcu.edu

Bretas, Luiza, M.S., M.H.A.
Clinical trials budget and contract analyst
(804) 628-3047
lbretas@vcu.edu

Brooks, Constance
Clinical research associate I
(804) 628-1953 or pager *600-2716
clbrooks@vcu.edu

Brown, Catherine, C.C.R.P.
Director, regulatory affairs & compliance

(804) 628-4931
crbrown@vcu.edu

Brown, Richard, Ph.D.
Cancer prevention and control PRMC subcommittee chair
(804) 628-3340
richard.brown@vcuhealth.org

Byers, Susan
Clinical research associate I
(804) 628-1895 or pager *600-3261
sfbyers@vcu.edu

Cadet, Debbie, Ph.D., M.S.W.
Minority accrual and patient services manager
(804) 628-2364
dcadet@vcu.edu

Campbell, Kristin, C.C.R.P.
Clinical research coordinator manager
(804) 628-1914 or pager *600-6622
klcampbell@vcu.edu

Candler, Kathryn, M.A., C.C.R.P.
Clinical research coordinator II
(804) 828-4732 or pager *600-6405
kcandler@vcu.edu

Carter, Ebony
Clinical research associate I
(804) 628-1912 or pager *600-4844
epcarter@vcu.edu

Choi, Cecilia
Clinical research associate I
(804) 628-1888
choich2@vcu.edu

Dennis, Phyllis
Insurance coordinator
(804) 828-9106 or pager *600-2316
pdennis@vcu.edu

Dickinson, Molly, M.E., C.C.R.P.
Clinical trial auditor
(804) 828-5844
mrdickinson@vcu.edu

Dodson, Patricia, R.N., B.S.N., M.A., C.C.R.C.
Clinical research nurse manager
(804) 628-2582 or pager *600-4231
pwdodson@vcu.edu

Donovan, Carrie, R.N.
Clinical research nurse manager
(804) 628-3836 or pager *600-4721
cdonovan2@vcu.edu

Elswick, Jason
Regulatory affairs specialist I
(804) 628-0829
jselswick@vcu.edu

Ely, Shauna, M.S.
Clinical research associate I
(804) 827-0734 or page *600-6388
srely@vcu.edu

Esposito, Lauryn
Clinical research associate I
(804) 628-2132 or pager *600-2452
lcesposito@vcu.edu

Feldt, Patricia, C.C.R.P.
Training and education manager
(804) 628-1902
pafeldt@vcu.edu

Forsythe, Karen
Executive coordinator
(804) 628-6435
kgforsythe@vcu.edu

Foster, Emily
Regulatory affairs coordinator
(804) 628-0932
grissomeb@vcu.edu

Garnett, Amanda, R.N., B.S.N., O.C.N.
Assistant director, clinical research nursing
(804) 628-6430 or pager *600-4766
asingh3@vcu.edu

Geyer, Charles, Jr., M.D., F.A.C.P.
Professor, internal medicine
Associate director for clinical research
(804) 628-6435
cegeyer@vcu.edu

Godek, Julia, B.B.A, M.L.T. (ASCP)
Scientific review coordinator
(804) 628-8480
jlgodek@vcu.edu

Gwaltney, Lindsey, R.N.
Clinical research nurse manager
(804) 628-2112 or pager *600-4714
lbgwaltney@vcu.edu

Hall, Charles, M.S.
Clinical research associate I
(804) 628-9748 or pager *600-2224
hallce3@vcu.edu

Hamilton, Melanie, R.N., B.S.N.
Clinical research nurse manager
(804) 628-2681 or pager *600-3081
mrhamilton2@vcu.edu

Harkins, Barbara, R.N., M.N.
Scientific writer
(804) 628-0644
blharkins@vcu.edu

Hendrix, Amber, C.C.R.P.
Senior clinical trial activation manager
(804) 628-1924
hendrixal@vcu.edu

Hicks, LaVern
Administrative coordinator
(804) 628-1904
lhicks@vcu.edu

Hogan, Kevin, Ph.D.
Senior scientific writer
(804) 628-4915
kthogan@vcu.edu

Houlihan, Robert, D.H.A., M.B.A., F.A.C.H.E., C.C.R.P., C.R.A.
Senior director, research administration
(804) 628-2685
rhhoulihan@vcu.edu

Hudson, Daniel
OnCore specialist
(804) 628-2682
djhudson@vcu.edu

Hunt, Wanda
Project manager, affiliations
(804) 628-2086
wshunt@vcu.edu

Kmieciak, Maciej, Ph.D.
Assistant director, translational & clinical research
(804) 628-5337 or pager *600-6291
mkmieciak@vcu.edu

Knight, Nicole
Clinical research associate I
(804) 628-0348 or page *600-6757
nknight@vcu.edu

Kungu, Maryanne
Clinical research associate I
(804) 628-0742
mkungu@vcu.edu

Lantis, Kristin, R.N.
Clinical research nurse manager
(804) 828-2177 or page *600-2067
kllantis@vcu.edu

Matin, Khalid, M.D., F.A.C.P.
Medical director, clinical trials affiliation network
(804) 628-2945
kmatin@vcu.edu

Matthews, Jennifer
Senior research administrator
(804) 628-1816
jmatthews4@vcu.edu

McFadden, Faith, R.N.
Clinical research nurse manager
(804) 628-0616 or pager *600-6677
mcfaddenfr@vcu.edu

McKeown, Cindy, R.N., B.S.N., M.P.A.
Director, clinical research network
(804) 628-1893
cemckeown@vcu.edu

Munson, Kit, R.N.
Clinical research nurse manager
(804) 327-3049
munsonk@vcu.edu

Osei, Kathleen, C.H.E.S.
Regulatory affairs coordinator
(804) 628-2313
oseik2@vcu.edu

Parker, Gwendolyn, M.S., F.N.P.-C.
Clinical research nurse practitioner
(804) 828-5090 or pager *600-4245
ggparker@vcu.edu

Petkov, Milena
Clinical research associate I
(804) 628-2471
petkovmi@vcu.edu

Pierce, Justin
Contract billing & compliance specialist
(804) 628-2962
piercejs5@vcu.edu

Rahman, Tasnim, B.Sc.
Laboratory manager, clinical and translational research
(804) 828-9221
rahmant3@vcu.edu

Roberts, Catherine, Ph.D.
Clinical research bone marrow transplant manager
(804) 828-1292 or pager *600-6172
croberts2@vcu.edu

Rogers, Karly
Clinical research nurse manager
(804) 827-1025
krogers8@vcu.edu

Rollins, April, B.S., C.C.R.P.
Clinical trial auditor
(804) 628-5222
deanad@vcu.edu

Rosas, Angela, C.C.R.P.
Clinical trials reporting manager
(804) 628-1896
atrosas@vcu.edu

Ruben, LaQuanda, B.S.
Clinical research associate I
(804) 828-4980
rubenld@vcu.edu

Ryan, Alison, R.N., M.S.N., A.O.C.N., A.P.R.N.-B.C.
Clinical research nurse practitioner
(804) 628-1936 or pager *600-4107
ryanaa@vcu.edu

Sankala, Heidi, Ph.D.
Scientific writer
(804) 628-3028
hsankala@vcu.edu

Schifano, Katelyn, C.H.E.S.
Community health educator
(804) 828-9724
schifanokr@vcu.edu

Schirmer, Tricia, C.C.R.P.
Regulatory affairs specialist II
(804) 628-2135
tschirmer@vcu.edu

Scott, Jaime, R.N., O.C.N.
Clinical research nurse manager
(804) 628-1909 or pager *600-4764
jscott@vcu.edu

Secosky, Juellisa, C.C.R.C., C.R.A.
Assistant director, clinical research administration
(804) 628-6812
jasecosky@vcu.edu

Shafer, Danielle, D.O.
Medical director, clinical trials office
(804) 628-6435
dashafer@vcu.edu

Sharp, Jennifer
Regulatory affairs specialist II
(804) 828-0113
jpsharp@vcu.edu

Shrader, Ellen, M.S., C.C.R.P.
Program administrator, investigator-initiated trials
(804) 628-3746 or pager *600-2592
shraderee@vcu.edu

Smith, Debbie, C.C.R.P.
Senior monitor
(804) 628-1894
dtsmith@vcu.edu

Smolenski, Terry, C.C.R.C.
Assistant director, compliance
(804) 628-2142
tsmolenski@vcu.edu

Sommers, Mary (Maggie)
Clinical research associate
(804) 828-0844 or pager *600-6232
msommers@vcu.edu

Strickler, Kathryn, R.N., B.S.N.
Clinical research nurse manager
(804) 628-0960 or pager *600-4775
stricklerkg@vcu.edu

Tombes, Mary Beth, R.N., M.N., C.C.R.C., A.C.N.P.-B.C.
Assistant director, early phase clinical research nursing
Clinical research nurse practitioner
(804) 628-1357 or pager *600-6013
mtombes@vcu.edu

Wade, Antoinette
Clinical research associate I
(804) 628-1886 or pager *600-3316
abrown32@vcu.edu

Weir-Wiggins, Caryn, R.N., M.T. (A.S.C.P.), M.P.H.
Clinical research nurse manager
(804) 628-2310 or pager *600-4529
cwiggins@vcu.edu

Wellons, Martha
Director, clinical trial development & program management
(804) 628-1939
mwellons@vcu.edu

Williams, Kimberly, R.N.
Clinical research nurse manager
(804) 628-2667
kwilliam@vcu.edu

Williamson, Daeryl, R.N., B.S.N.
Clinical research nurse manager
(804) 628-4712 or pager *600-4845
johnsondl4@vcu.edu

Wilson, Christina, R.N., B.S.N.
Clinical research nurse manager
(804) 628-1930 or pager *600-4370
cwilson@vcu.edu

Womack, Sarah
Clinical research associate I
(804) 628-4519
srwomack@vcu.edu

Back to top

 

Activation team

MasseyActPM@vcu.edu

Amber Hendrix, C.C.R.P.
Senior clinical trial activation manager
(804) 628-1924
hendrixal@vcu.edu

Kristen Baker, B.S., C.C.R.P.
Protocol start up coordinator
(804) 628-2341
kbaker2@vcu.edu

 

 Back to top

 

Bone marrow transplant

(804) 828-4360

Kathryn Candler, M.A., C.C.R.P.
Clinical research coordinator II
(804) 828-4732 or pager *600-6405
kcandler@vcu.edu

Catherine Roberts, Ph.D.
Clinical research bone marrow transplant manager
(804) 828-1292 or pager *600-6726
croberts2@vcu.edu

Charles Hall, M.S.
Clinical research associate I
(804) 628-9748 or pager *600-2224
hallce3@vcu.edu

 

Back to top

Breast cancer, a.k.a. “The Pink Team”

(804) 828-0450

masseyctbrst@vcu.edu

Christina Wilson, R.N., B.S.N.
Clinical research nurse manager
(804) 628-1930 or pager *600-4370
cwilson@vcu.edu

Daeryl Williamson, R.N., B.S.N.
Clinical research nurse manager
(804) 628-4712 or pager *600-4845
johnsondl4@vcu.edu

Melanie Hamilton, R.N., B.S.N.
Clinical research nurse manager
(804) 628-2681 or pager *600-3081
mrhamilton2@vcu.edu

Lauryn Esposito
Clinical research associate I
(804) 628-2132 or pager *600-2452
lcesposito@vcu.edu

Milena Petkov
Clinical research associate I
(804) 628-2471
petkovmi@vcu.edu

 

Back to top

 

Cancer prevention and control

(804) 828-0450

Gwendolyn Parker, M.S., F.N.P.-C.
Clinical research nurse practitioner
(804) 828-5090 or pager *600-4245 
ggparker@vcu.edu

Patricia Dodson, R.N., B.S.N., M.A., C.C.R.C.
Clinical research nurse manager
(804) 628-2582 or pager *600-4231
pwdodson@vcu.edu

Ebony Carter
Clinical research associate I
(804) 628-1912 or pager *600-4844
epcarter@vcu.edu

Cecilia Choi
Clinical research associate I
(804) 628-1888
choich2@vcu.edu

Back to top

 

Clinical research affiliation network

MCRAFN@vcu.edu

Cindy McKeown, R.N., B.S.N., M.P.A.
Director, clinical research network
(804) 628-1893
cemckeown@vcu.edu

Wanda Hunt
Project manager, affiliations
(804) 628-2086
wshunt@vcu.edu

Back to top

 

Clinical research patient support services

Debbie L. Cadet, Ph.D., M.S.W.
Minority accrual & patient services manager
(804) 628-2364
dcadet@vcu.edu

Katelyn Schifano, C.H.E.S.
Community health educator
(804) 828-9724
schifanokr@vcu.edu

Phyllis Dennis
Insurance coordinator
(804) 828-9106 or pager *600-2316
pdennis@vcu.edu

 

Back to top

 

Compliance

MasseyAudit@vcu.edu

Terry Smolenski, C.C.R.C.
Assistant director, compliance
(804) 628-2142
tsmolenski@vcu.edu

Debbie Smith, C.C.R.P.
Senior monitor
(804) 628-1894
dtsmith@vcu.edu

April Rollins, B.S., C.C.R.P.
Clinical trial auditor
(804) 628-5222
deanad@vcu.edu

Molly Dickinson, M.E., C.C.R.P.
Clinical trial auditor
(804) 828-5844
mrdickinson@vcu.edu

 

Back to top

 

Gynecologic oncology

(804) 828-0450

Trudy Belcher, R.N.
Clinical research nurse manager
(804) 628-6434 or pager *600-4244
tbelcher2@vcu.edu

Melanie Hamilton, R.N., B.S.N.
Clinical research nurse manager
(804) 628-2681 or pager *600-3081
mrhamilton2@vcu.edu

Constance Brooks
Clinical research associate I
(804) 628-1953 or pager *600-2716
clbrooks@vcu.edu

Back to top

 

Hematologic malignancies, early phase (HIIT)

(804) 628-5006
Fax (804) 827-2026
MasseyHIIT@vcu.edu

Mary Beth Tombes, R.N., M.N., C.C.R.C, A.C.N.P.-B.C.
C
linical research nurse practitioner
(804) 628-1357 or pager *600-6013
mtombes@vcu.edu

Caryn Weir-Wiggins, R.N., M.T. (A.S.C.P.), M.P.H.
Clinical research nurse manager
(804) 628-2310 or pager *600-4529
cwiggins@vcu.edu

Ellen Shrader, M.S., C.C.R.P.
Program administrator, investigator-initiated trials
(804) 628-3746 or pager *600-2592
shraderee@vcu.edu

LaQuanda Ruben, B.S.
Clinical research associate I
(804) 828-4980
rubenld@vcu.edu

Back to top

 

Hematologic malignancies  (HEMONC)

FAX (804) 827-2027
masseyhemmlg@vcu.edu

Jaime Scott, R.N., O.C.N.
Clinical research nurse manager
(804) 628-1909 or pager *600-4764
jscott@vcu.edu

Kristin Lantis, R.N.
Clinical research nurse manager
(804) 828-2177 or page *600-2067
kllantis@vcu.edu

Antoinette Wade
Clinical research associate I
(804) 628-1886 or page *600-3316
abrown32@vcu.edu

Susan Byers
Clinical research associate I
(804) 628-1895 or page *600-3261
sfbyers@vcu.edu

Back to top

 

Neuro-oncology

(804) 828-4178

Back to top

 

Office for Clinical Research

(804) 828-0450

Charles Geyer, Jr., M.D., F.A.C.P.
Professor, internal medicine
Associate director for clinical research
(804) 628-6435
cegeyer@vcu.edu

Danielle Shafer, D.O.
Medical director, clinical trials office
(804) 628-6435
dashafer@vcu.edu

Harry D. Bear, M.D., Ph.D.
Chairperson, PRMC
(804) 828-9325
hdbear@vcu.edu

Jane Baggett, R.N.
Director, clinical research operations and management
(804) 628-2360 or pager *600-4315
jbaggett@vcu.edu

Karen Forsythe
Executive coordinator
(804) 628-6435
kgforsythe@vcu.edu

 

Back to top

 

Palliative care

(804) 828-0450 

Back to top

 

Pediatric oncology

(804) 628-1889
PedsOncReg@vcu.edu

Lindsey Gwaltney, R.N.
Clinical research nurse manager
(804) 628-2112 or pager *600-4714
lbgwaltney@vcu.edu

Johanna Biamonte
Clinical research associate I
(804) 628-1889
jbiamonte@vcu.edu

 

Back to top

 

Protocol development and program management

Kristen Baker, B.S., C.C.R.P.
Protocol start up coordinator
(804) 628-2341
kbaker2@vcu.edu

Julia Godek, B.B.A, M.L.T. (ASCP)
Scientific review coordinator
(804) 628-8480
jlgodek@vcu.edu

Amber Hendrix, C.C.R.P.
Senior clinical trial activation manager
(804) 628-1924
hendrixal@vcu.edu

LaVern Hicks
Administrative coordinator
(804) 628-1904
lhicks@vcu.edu

Daniel Hudson
OnCore specialist
(804)  628-2682
djhudson@vcu.edu

Angela Rosas, C.C.R.P.
Clinical trials reporting manager
(804) 628-1896
atrosas@vcu.edu

Martha Wellons
Director, clinical trial development & program management
(804) 628-1939
mwellons@vcu.edu

 

Back to top

 

Protocol Review and Monitoring Committee (PRMC)

MasseyPRMS@vcu.edu

Harry D. Bear, M.D., Ph.D.
Chairperson, PRMC
(804) 828-9325
hdbear@vcu.edu

Martha Wellons
Director, clinical trial development & program management
(804) 628-1939
mwellons@vcu.edu

Julia Godek
Scientific review coordinator
(804) 628-8480
jlgodek@vcu.edu

Richard Brown, Ph.D.
Cancer prevention and control PRMC subcommittee chair
(804) 628-3340
rbrown39@vcu.edu

 

Back to top

 

Radiation oncology

MasseyRadOnc@vcu.edu

Kimberly Williams, R.N.
Clinical research nurse manager
(804) 628-2667
kwilliam@vcu.edu

Maryanne Kungu
Clinical research associate I
(804) 628-0742
mkungu@vcu.edu

 

Back to top

 

Regulatory affairs

MasseyIRB@vcu.edu

Catherine Brown, C.C.R.P.
Director of regulatory affairs & compliance
(804) 628-4931
crbrown@vcu.edu

Jennifer Sharp
Reguatory affairs specialist II
(804) 828-0113
jpsharp@vcu.edu

Tricia Schirmer, C.C.R.P.
Regulatory affairs specialist II
(804) 628-2135
tschirmer@vcu.edu

Jason Elswick
Regulatory affairs specialist I
(804) 628-0829
jselswick@vcu.edu

Emily Foster
Regulatory affairs coordinator
(804) 628-0932
grissomeb@vcu.edu

Kathleen Osei, C.H.E.S.
Regulatory affairs coordinator
(804) 628-2313
oseik2@vcu.edu

 

Back to top

 

Research nursing and data management

Amanda Garnett, R.N., B.S.N., O.C.N.
Assistant director, clinical research nursing
(804) 628-6430 or pager *600-4766
asingh3@vcu.edu

Kristin Campbell, C.C.R.P.
Clinical research coordinator manager
(804) 628-1914 or pager *600-6622
klcampbell@vcu.edu

 

Back to top

 

Solid tumors, early phase (SIIT)

(804) 628-9238
FAX (804) 628-4983
masseySIIT@vcu.edu

 

Mary Beth Tombes, R.N., M.N., C.C.R.C., A.C.N.P.-B.C.
Clinical research nurse practitioner
(804) 628-1357 or pager *600-6013
mtombes@vcu.edu

Katie Strickler, R.N., B.S.N.
Clinical research nurse manager
(804) 628-0960 or pager *600-4775
stricklerkg@vcu.edu

Alison Ryan, R.N., M.S.N., A.O.C.N., A.P.R.N.-B.C.
Clinical research nurse practitioner
(804) 628-1936 or pager *600-4107
ryanaa@vcu.edu

Nicole Knight
Clinical research associate I
(804) 628-0348 or page *600-6757
nknight@vcu.edu

Ellen Shrader, M.S., C.C.R.P.
Program administrator, investigator-initiated trials
(804) 628-3746 or pager *600-2592
shraderee@vcu.edu

Shauna Ely, M.S.
Clinical research associate I
(804) 827-0734 or page *600-6388
srely@vcu.edu

 

Back to top 

 

Solid tumors (MEDONC)

(804) 828-0450

Faith McFadden, R.N.
Clinical research nurse manager
(804) 628-0616 or pager *600-6677
mcfaddenfr@vcu.edu

Carrie Donovan, R.N.
Clinical research nurse manager
(804) 628-3836 or pager *600-4721
cdonovan2@vcu.edu

Mary (Maggie) Sommers
Clinical research associate
(804) 828-0844 or pager *600-6232
msommers@vcu.edu

Sarah Womack
Clinical research associate I
(804) 628-4519
srwomack@vcu.edu

Back to top