Virginia Commonwealth University

VCU Massey Cancer Center

Clinical research contacts

Clinical research personnel at Massey coordinate participation in clinical trials. They establish patient eligibility for a particular study, schedule any required trial-related laboratory tests, procedures and medical appointments and serve as the key contacts for patients and referring physicians throughout the clinical trial.

If you have any questions about clinical trials, please contact one of our experts listed below.

Alphabetical listing
Auditing
Bone marrow transplant
Breast cancer, a.k.a. “The Pink Team”
Cancer prevention and control 
Clinical research affiliation network
Clinical research patient support services
Clinical trials management systems
Gynecologic oncology
Hematologic malignancies, locally initiated
Hematologic malignancies, cooperative group and industry
McGuire Veterans Affairs Medical Center
Neuro-oncology
Office for Clinical Research
Palliative care
Pediatric oncology
Protocol Review and Monitoring Committee (PRMC)
Radiation oncology
Regulatory
Research nursing and data management
Solid tumors, early phase
Solid tumors, cooperative group and industry

 

Alphabetical listing

Ashe, Alexandria
Protocol start up coordinator
(804) 628-4571
browna2@vcu.edu

Baggett, Jane, R.N.
Assistant director, clinical research nursing
(804) 628-2360 or pager *60-4315
jbaggett@vcu.edu

Baker, Kristen
Clinical research associate I
(804) 628-2341 or pager *60-2017
kbaker2@vcu.edu

Bear, Harry D., M.D., Ph.D.
Medical Director, Clinical Trials Office
(804) 828-9325
hdbear@vcu.edu

Belcher, Trudy, R.N.
Clinical research nurse manager
(804) 628-6434 or pager *60-4244
tbelcher2@vcu.edu

Biamonte, Johanna
Clinical research associate I
(804) 628-1889
jbiamonte@vcu.edu

Brooks, Connie
Clinical research associate I
(804) 628-1953 or pager *60-2716
clbrooks@vcu.edu

Brown, Catherine
Director of regulatory affiars & compliance

(804) 628-4931
crbrown@vcu.edu

Brown, Richard, Ph.D.
Cancer prevention and control PRMC subcommittee chair
(804) 628-3340
rbrown39@vcu.edu

Byers, Susan
Clinical research associate I
(804) 628-1895 or pager *60-3261
sfbyers@vcu.edu

Cadet, Debbie L., Ph.D., M.S.W.
Minority accrual and patient services manager
(804) 628-2364 or pager *60-6135
dcadet@vcu.edu

Campbell, Kristin, C.C.R.P.
Clinical research coordinator manager
(804) 628-1914 or pager *60-6622
klcampbell@vcu.edu

Candler, Kathryn, M.A.
Clinical research coordinator II
(804) 828-4732 or pager *60-6405
kcandler@vcu.edu

Carter, Ebony
Clinical research associate I
(804) 628-1912 or pager *60-4844
epcarter@vcu.edu

Chestukhin, Anton, Ph.D.
Senior clinical & translational scientist
(804) 628-1425
achestukhin@vcu.edu

Choi, Cecilia
Clinical research associate I
(804) 628-0742
choich2@vcu.edu

Conine, Sarah, Ph.D.
Scientific writing coordinator
(804) 628-0317
sconine@vcu.edu

DeLeon, Karin L.
Clinical research coordinator I
(804) 675-5000, ext. 4838
karin.deleon@va.gov
deleonkl@vcu.edu

Dennis, Phyllis
Insurance coordinator
(804) 828-9106 or pager *60-2316
pdennis@vcu.edu

Dodson, Patricia, R.N., B.S.N., M.A., C.C.R.C.
Clinical research nurse manager
(804) 628-2582 or pager *60-4231
pwdodson@vcu.edu

Donovan, Carrie, R.N.
Clinical research nurse manager
(804) 628-3836 or pager *60-4721
cdonovan2@vcu.edu

Elswick, Jason
Regulatory affairs specialist I
(804) 628-0829
jselswick@vcu.edu

Esposito, Lauryn
Clinical research associate I
(804) 628-2132 or pager *60-2452
lcesposito@vcu.edu

Feldt, Patricia, C.C.R.P.
Training and education manager
(804) 628-1902
pafeldt@vcu.edu

Forsythe, Karen
Administative Assistant
(804) 628-6435
kgforsythe@vcu.edu

Foster, Emily
Regulatory affairs coordinator
(804) 628-0932
grissomeb@vcu.edu

Geyer, Charles, Jr., M.D., F.A.C.P.
Professor, internal medicine
Associate director for clinical research
(804) 628-1094
cegeyer@vcu.edu

Godek, Julia
Scientific review coordinator
(804) 628-8480
jlgodek@vcu.edu

Gwaltney, Lindsey, R.N.
Clinical research nurse manager
(804) 628-2112 or pager *60-4714
crawfordlb@vcu.edu

Harkins, Barbara, R.N., M.N.
Scintific writer
(804) 628-0644
blharkins@vcu.edu

Hendrix, Amber L., C.C.R.P.
Senior clinical trial activation manager
(804) 628-1924
hendrixal@vcu.edu

Hicks, LaVern E.
Administrative assistant
(804) 628-1904
lhicks@vcu.edu

Highland, Juliette, M.A.
Clinical trials budget & contract analyst
(804) 628-1827
s2jshigh@vcu.edu

Hogan, Kevin, Ph.D.
Senior scientific writer
(804) 628-4915
kthogan@vcu.edu

Holdford, Diane, R.N., B.S.N., C.C.R.C.
Clinical research program manager
(804) 828-0296 or pager *60-4668
djholdfo@vcu.edu

Houlihan, Robert, D.H.A., M.B.A., F.A.C.H.E., C.C.R.P., C.R.A.
Senior director, research administration
(804) 628-2685
rhhoulihan@vcu.edu

Hudson, Daniel
OnCore specialist
(804) 628-2682
djhudson@vcu.edu

Hunt, Wanda
Project manager, affiliations
(804) 628-2086
wshunt@vcu.edu

Jackson, Katherine, C.C.R.P.
Clinical research administrator
(804) 628-2684
leeke5@vcu.edu

Kmieciak, Maciej, Ph.D.
Assistant director; translational & clinical research
(804) 628-5337 or pager *60-6291
mkmieciak@vcu.edu

Knight, Nicole
Clinical research associate I
(804) 628-0348
nknight@vcu.edu

Lantis, Kristin, R.N.
Ckinical research nurse manager
828-2177 or page *60-2067
kllamtis@vcu.edu

Laws, Kristina
Clinical research associate I
(804) 628-1888 or pager *60-5363
klaws@vcu.edu

LiBrandi, Heather
Clinical trials auditor
(804) 628-2313
librandihd@vcu.edu

Matin, Khalid, M.D., F.A.C.P.
Medical director, clinical trials affiliation network
(804) 628-2945
kmatin@vcu.edu

Matthews, Jennifer
Senior research administrator
(804) 628-1816
jmatthews4@vcu.edu

McFadden, Faith, R.N.
Clinical research nurse manager
(804) 628-0616 or pager *60-6677
mcfaddenfr@vcu.edu

McKeown, Cindy E., R.N., B.S.N., M.P.A.
Director of clinical research nursing & data managament
(804) 628-1893
cemckeown@vcu.edu

Miller, Heidi, R.N.
Clinical research nurse manager
(804) 628-2334 or pager *60-4835
hmmiller@vcu.edu

Munson, Kit, R.N.
Clinical research nurse manager
(804) 327-3049 or pager *60-4559
munsonk@vcu.edu

Oakes, Travis
OnCore application programmer / OnCore analyst
(804) 628-1920
toakes@vcu.edu

Parker, Gwendolyn, M.S., F.N.P.-C.
Clinical research nurse practitioner
(804) 828-5090 or pager *60-4245
ggparker@vcu.edu

Pierce, Justin
Contract billing & completion specialist
(804) 628-2962
piercejs5@vcu.edu

Rathbun, Angela
Clinical trials reporting manager
(804) 628-1896
rathbunat@vcu.edu

Roberts, Allison (Courtney)
Regulatory affairs coordinator
(804) 628-2087
robertsac@vcu.edu

Roberts, Catherine, Ph.D.
Clinical research bone marrow transplant manager
(804) 828-1292 or pager *60-6172
croberts2@vcu.edu

Rollins, April, C.C.R.P.
Clinical research associate I
(804) 628-5222 or pager *60-2770
deanad@vcu.edu

Russell, Teri
Clinical research laboratory manager
(804) 828-9221 or pager *60-6630
tlrussel@vcu.edu

Ryan, Alison, R.N., Nurse Practioner, A.N.P.
Clinical research nurse practioner
(804) 628-1936 or pager *60-4107
ryanaa@vcu.edu

Sankala, Heidi, Ph.D
Scientific writer
(804) 628-3028
hsankala@vcu.edu

Scalora, Allison, M.S.
Clinical research coordinator I
(804) 628-5373
afscalora@vcu.edu

Schirmer, Tricia, C.C.R.P.
Regulatory affairs specialist I
(804) 628-2135
tschirmer@vcu.edu

Scott, Jaime, R.N., O.C.N.
Clinical research nurse manager
(804) 628-1909 or pager *60-4764
jscott@vcu.edu

Secosky, Juellisa, C.C.R.C., C.C.R.A.
Assistant director of clinical research administration
(804) 628-6812
jasecosky@vcu.edu

Sharp, Jennifer, C.C.R.P
Regulatory affairs specialist II / interim regulatory manager
(804) 828-0113
jpsharp@vcu.edu

Shrader, Ellen, M.S., C.C.R.P.
Early phase clinical trial project analyst
(804) 628-3746 or pager *60-2592
shraderee@vcu.edu

Singh, Amanda G., R.N., B.S.N., O.C.N.
Clinical research nurse manager
(804) 628-6430 or pager *60-4766
asingh3@vcu.edu

Skinner, Vicki, R.N., B.S.N.
Clinical research nurse manager
(804) 675-5646 or pager *60-4343
vicki.skinner@va.gov
vskinne@vcu.edu

Smith, Deborah, C.C.R.P.
Senior Study Monitor
(804) 628-1894 or pager *60-6734
dtsmith@vcu.edu

Smolenski, Terry, C.C.R.C.
Assistant director, compliance
(804) 628-2142
tsmolenski@vcu.edu

Strickler, Kathryn, R.N., B.S.N.
Clinical research nurse manager
(804) 628-0960 or pager *60-4775
stricklerkg@vcu.edu

Tombes, Mary Beth, R.N., M.N., A.O.C.N., C.C.R.C., A.C.N.P.-B.C.
Assistant director, early phase clinical research nursing
Clinical research nurse practitioner
(804) 628-1357 or pager *60-6013
mtombes@vcu.edu

Wade, Antoinette
Clinical research associate I
(804) 628-1886 or pager *60-3316
abrown32@vcu.edu

Webb-Parker, Shauna
Clinical research associate I
(804) 628-0734
webbparkersr@vcu.edu

Weir-Wiggins, Caryn, R.N., M.T. (A.S.C.P.), M.P.H.
Clinical research nurse manager
(804) 628-2310 or pager *60-4529
cwiggins@vcu.edu

Wellons, Martha, C.C.R.P.
Director, clinical trial development & program management
(804) 628-1939
mwellons@vcu.edu

Williamson, Daeryl, R.N.
Clinical research nurse manager
(804) 628-4712 or pager *60-4845
johnsondl4@vcu.edu

Wilson, Christina, R.N., B.S.N.
Clinical research nurse manager
(804) 628-1930 or pager *60-4370
cwilson@vcu.edu

Wood, Cheryl, R.N., B.S.N., M.S.
Clinical research nurse manager
(804) 828-4549 or pager *60-4649
cvwood@vcu.edu

 

Back to top

 

Auditing

Terry Smolenski, C.C.R.C.
Assistant director, compliance
(804) 628-2142
tsmolenski@vcu.edu
MasseyDSMB@vcu.edu

Heather LiBrandi
Clinical trials auditor
(804) 628-2313
librandihd@vcu.edu

 

 

Back to top

 

Bone marrow transplant

(804) 828-4360

Kathryn Candler, M.A.
Clinical research coordinator II
(804) 828-4732 or pager *60-6405
kcandler@vcu.edu

Catherine Roberts, Ph.D.
Clinical research bone marrow transplant manager
(804) 828-1292 or pager *60-6726
croberts2@vcu.edu

Allison Scalora, M.S.
Clinical research coordinator I
(804) 628-5373
afscalora@vcu.edu

Back to top

 

Breast cancer, a.k.a. “The Pink Team”

(804) 828-0450

Christina Wilson, R.N., B.S.N.
Clinical research nurse manager
(804) 628-1930 or pager *60-4370
cwilson@vcu.edu

Cheryl Wood, R.N., B.S.N., M.S.
Clinical research nurse manager
(804) 828-4549 or pager *60-4649
cvwood@vcu.edu

Kit Munson, R.N.
Clinical research nurse manager
(804) 628-4712 or pager *60-4559
munsonk@vcu.edu

Daeryl Williamson, R.N.
Clinical research nurse manager
(804) 628-4712 or pager *60-4845
johnsondl4@vcu.edu

Lauryn Esposito
Clinical research associate I
(804) 628-2132 or pager *60-2452
lcesposito@vcu.edu

 

Back to top

 

Cancer prevention and control

(804) 828-0450

Gwendolyn Parker, M.S., F.N.P.-C.
Clinical research nurse practitioner
(804) 828-5090 or pager *60-4245 
ggparker@vcu.edu

Patricia Dodson, R.N., B.S.N., M.A., C.C.R.C.
Clinical research nurse manager
(804) 628-2582 or pager *60-4231
pwdodson@vcu.edu

Kristina Laws
Clinical research associate I
(804) 628-1888 or pager *60-5363
klaws@vcu.edu

Ebony Carter
Clinical research associate I
(804) 628-1912 or pager *60-4844
epcarter@vcu.edu

 

Back to top

Clinical research affiliation network

MCRAFN@vcu.edu

Wanda Hunt
Project manager, affiliations
(804) 628-2086
wshunt@vcu.edu

Back to top

Clinical research patient support services

Debbie L. Cadet, Ph.D., M.S.W.
Minority accrual & patient services manager
(804) 628-2364 or pager *60-6135
dcadet@vcu.edu

Phyllis Dennis
Insurance coordinator
(804) 828-9106 or pager *60-2316
pdennis@vcu.edu

Back to top

 

Clinical trials management systems

Travis Oakes
OnCore application programmer / OnCore analyst
(804) 628-1920
toakes@vcu.edu

Daniel Hudson
OnCore specialist
(804)  628-2682
djhudson@vcu.edu

Back to top

 

Gynecologic oncology

(804) 828-0450

Trudy Belcher, R.N.
Clinical research nurse manager
(804) 628-6434 or pager *60-4244
tbelcher2@vcu.edu

Connie Brooks
Clinical research associate I
(804) 628-1953 or pager *60-2716
clbrooks@vcu.edu

Back to top

 

Hematologic malignancies, early phase and locally initiated

(804) 628-5006
Fax (804) 827-2026
MasseyHIIT@vcu.edu

Mary Beth Tombes, R.N., M.N., A.C.N.P.-B.C.
C
linical research nurse practitioner
(804) 628-1357 or pager *60-6013
mtombes@vcu.edu

Caryn Weir-Wiggins, R.N., M.T. (A.S.C.P.), M.P.H.
Clinical research nurse manager
(804) 628-2310 or pager *60-4529
cwiggins@vcu.edu

Amanda G. Singh, R.N., B.S.N., O.C.N.
Clinical research nurse manager
(804) 628-6430 or pager *60-4766
asingh3@vcu.edu

Ellen Shrader, M.S., C.C.R.P.
Project analyst
(804) 628-3746 or pager *60-2592
shraderee@vcu.edu

April Rollins, C.C.R.P.
Clinical research associate I
(804) 628-5222 or pager *60-2770
deanad@vcu.edu

Back to top

 

Hematologic malignancies, cooperative group and industry

(804) 828-0450

Jaime Scott, R.N., O.C.N.
Clinical research nurse manager
(804) 628-1909 or pager *60-4764
jscott@vcu.edu

Lantis, Kristin, R.N.
Ckinical research nurse manager
828-2177 or page *60-2067
kllamtis@vcu.edu

Antoinette Wade
Clinical research associate I
(804) 628-1886 or page *60-3316
abrown32@vcu.edu

Susan Byers
Clinical research associate I
(804) 628-1895 or page *60-3261
sfbyers@vcu.edu

Back to top

 

McGuire Veterans Affairs Medical Center

Vicki Skinner, R.N., B.S.N.
Clinical research nurse manager
(804) 675-5646 or pager *60-4343
vicki.skinner@va.gov

Karin L. DeLeon
Clinical research coordinator I
(804) 675-5000, ext. 4838
karin.deleon@va.gov

Back to top

 

Neuro-oncology

(804) 828-4178

Tombes, Mary Beth, R.N., M.N., A.O.C.N., C.C.R.C., A.C.N.P.-B.C.
Assistant director, early phase clinical research nursing
Clinical research nurse practitioner
(804) 628-1357 or pager *60-6013
mtombes@vcu.edu

Diane Holdford, R.N., B.S.N., C.C.R.C.
Clinical research program manager
(804) 828-0296 or pager *60-4668
djholdfo@vcu.edu

Back to top

 

Office for Clinical Research

(804) 828-0450

Charles Geyer, Jr., M.D., F.A.C.P.
Professor, internal medicine
Associate director for clinical research
(804) 628-1094
cegeyer@vcu.edu

Harry D. Bear, M.D., Ph.D
Medical Director, Clinical Trials Office
(804) 828-9325
hdbear@vcu.edu

Martha Wellons, C.C.R.P.
Director clinical trial development & program management
(804) 628-1939
mwellons@vcu.edu

LaVern Hicks
Administrative assistant
(804) 628-1904
lhicks@vcu.edu

Back to top

 

Palliative care

(804) 828-0450 

Back to top

 

Pediatric oncology

(804) 628-1889
PedsOncReg@vcu.edu

Lindsey Gwaltney, R.N.
Clinical research nurse manager
(804) 628-2112 or pager *60-4714
crawfordlb@vcu.edu

Johanna Biamonte
Clinical research associate I
(804) 628-1889
jbiamonte@vcu.edu

 

Back to top

 

Protocol Review and Monitoring Committee (PRMC)

MasseyPRMS@vcu.edu

Harry D. Bear, M.D., Ph.D
PRMC chair
(804) 828-9325
hdbear@vcu.edu

Martha Wellons, C.C.R.P.
Director, clinical trial development & program management
(804) 628-1939
mwellons@vcu.edu

Julia Godek
Scientific review coordinator
(804) 628-8480
jlgodek@vcu.edu

Richard Brown, Ph.D.
Cancer prevention and control PRMC subcommittee chair
(804) 628-3340
rbrown39@vcu.edu

 

Back to top

 

Radiation oncology

MasseyRadOnc@vcu.edu

Diane Holdford, R.N., B.S.N., C.C.R.C.
Clinical research program manager
(804) 828-0296 or pager *60-4668
djholdfo@vcu.edu

Heidi Miller, R.N.
Clinical research nurse manager
(804) 628-2334 or pager *60-4835
hmmiller@vcu.edu

Cecelia Choi
Clinical research associate I
(804) 628-0742
choich2@vcu.edu

Ashley Gibson
Clinical research associate I
(804) 628-2204
gibsonad@vcu.edu

 

Back to top

 

Regulatory

MasseyIRB@vcu.edu

Catherine Brown
Director of regulatory affiars & compliance
(804) 628-4931
crbrown@vcu.edu

Jennifer Sharp, C.C.R.P.
Reguatory affairs specialist II & interim regulatory manager
(804) 828-0113
jpsharp@vcu.edu

Tricia Schirmer, C.C.R.P.
Regulatory affairs specialist I
(804) 628-2135
tschirmer@vcu.edu

Allison (Courtney) Roberts
Regulatory affairs coordinator
(804) 628-2087
robertsac@vcu.edu

Jason Elswick
Regulatory affairs specialist I
(804) 628-0829
jselswick@vcu.edu

Langhorne, Kimberly
Regulatory affairs coordinator
(804) 828-9457
klanghorne@vcu.edu

Foster, Emily
Regulatory affairs coordinator
(804) 628-0932
grissomeb@vcu.edu

 

Back to top

 

Research nursing and data management

Cindy E. McKeown, R.N., B.S.N., M.P.A.
Clinical research nursing administrator
(804) 628-1893
pilarinosce@vcu.edu

Karen Forsythe
Administrative assistant
(804) 628-6435
kgforsythe@vcu.edu

Back to top

 

Solid tumors, early phase and locally initiated

(804) 828-0450

Mary Beth Tombes, R.N., M.N., A.O.C.N., C.C.R.C., A.C.N.P.-B.C.
Assistant director, early phase clinical research nursing
Clinical research nurse practitioner
(804) 628-1357 or pager *60-6013
mtombes@vcu.edu

Katie Strickler, R.N., B.S.N.
Clinical research nurse manager
(804) 628-0960 or pager *60-4775
stricklerkg@vcu.edu

Alison Ryan, R.N., Nurse Practitioner, A.N.P.
Clinical research nurse practioner
(804) 628-1936 or pager *60-4107
ryanaa@vcu.edu

Nicole Knight
Clinical research associate I
(804) 628-0348
nknight@vcu.edu

Ellen Shrader, M.S., C.C.R.P.
Early phase clinical trial project analyst
(804) 628-3746 or pager *60-2592
shraderee@vcu.edu

 

 

Back to top 

 

Solid tumors, cooperative group and industry

(804) 828-0450

Faith McFadden, R.N.
Clinical research nurse manager
(804) 628-0616 or pager *60-6677
mcfaddenfr@vcu.edu

Carrie Donovan, R.N.
Clinical research nurse manager
(804) 628-3836 or pager *60-4721
cdonovan2@vcu.edu

Kristen Baker
Clinical research associate I
(804) 628-2341
kbaker2@vcu.edu

 

 

Back to top