Virginia Commonwealth University

VCU Massey Cancer Center

Clinical research contacts

Clinical research personnel at Massey coordinate participation in clinical trials. They establish patient eligibility for a particular study, schedule any required trial-related laboratory tests, procedures and medical appointments and serve as the key contacts for patients and referring physicians throughout the clinical trial.

If you have any questions about clinical trials, please contact one of our experts listed below.

Alphabetical listing
Auditing
Bone marrow transplant
Breast cancer, a.k.a. “The Pink Team”
Cancer prevention and control 
Clinical research affiliation network
Clinical research patient support services
Clinical trials management systems
Gynecologic oncology
Hematologic malignancies, locally initiated
Hematologic malignancies, cooperative group and industry
McGuire Veterans Affairs Medical Center
Neuro-oncology
Office for Clinical Research
Palliative care
Pediatric oncology
Protocol Review and Monitoring Committee (PRMC)
Radiation oncology
Regulatory
Research nursing and data management
Solid tumors, early phase
Solid tumors, cooperative group and industry

 

Alphabetical listing

Baggett, Jane, R.N.
Assistant director, clinical research nursing
(804) 628-2360 or pager *60-4315
jbaggett@mcvh-vcu.edu

Baker, Kristen
Clinical research associate I
(804) 628-2341 or pager *60-7888
kbaker2@vcu.edu

Brooks, Connie
Clinical research associate I
(804) 628-1953 or pager *60-2716
clbrooks@vcu.edu

Brown, Antoinette
Clinical research associate II
(804) 628-1886
abrown32@vcu.edu

Brown, Catherine
Regulatory affairs and administrative manager
(804) 628-4931
crbrown@vcu.edu

Brown, Richard, Ph.D.
Cancer prevention and control PRMC subcommittee chair
(804) 628-3340
rbrown39@vcu.edu

Byers, Susan
Clinical research associate
(804) 628-1895
sfbyers@vcu.edu

Cadet, Debbie L., Ph.D., M.S.W.
Minority recruitment liaison
(804) 628-2364
dcadet@vcu.edu

Campbell, Kristin
Senior clinical research coordinator
(804) 628-1914 or pager (804) 997-5423
klcampbell@vcu.edu

Candler, Kathryn, M.A.
Clinical research coordinator 
(804) 828-4732 or pager *60-6405
kcandler@vcu.edu

Choi, Cecelia
Clinical research associate I
(804) 628-0742
choich2@vcu.edu

Dean, April
Clinical research associate I
(804) 628-5222 or pager *60-0737
deanad@vcu.edu

DeLeon, Karin L.
Clinical research coordinator
(804) 675-5000, ext. 4838
karin.deleon@va.gov

Dennis, Phyllis
Insurance coordinator
(804) 828-9106
pdennis@vcu.edu

Dodson, Patricia, R.N., B.S.N., M.A., C.C.R.C.
Clinical research nurse coordinator
(804) 628-3836 or pager *60-4231
pwdodson@vcu.edu

Donovan, Carrie
Clinical research nurse coordinator
(804) 628-3836 or pager *60-4721
cdonovan2@vcu.edu

Feldt, Patti
Senior regulatory coordinator
(804) 628-1902
pafeldt@vcu.edu

Forsythe, Karen
Administrative assistant
(804) 628-6435
kgforsythe@vcu.edu

Geyer, Charles, M.D.
Associate director for clinical research
(804) 628-1094
cegeyer@vcu.edu

Gresock, Emily, R.N., B.S.N.
Clinical research nurse
(804) 628-2334 or pager *60-4743
eagresock@vcu.edu

Grove, Alicia
Clinical research associate I
(804) 628-1912
groveah@vcu.edu

Hendrix, Amber L., C.C.R.P.
Study start-up coordinator
(804) 628-1924
hendrixal@vcu.edu

Hicks, LaVern
Administrative assistant
(804) 628-1904
lhicks@vcu.edu

Holdford, Diane, R.N., B.S.N., C.C.R.C.
Clinical research program manager
(804) 828-0296 or pager *60-4668
djholdfo@vcu.edu

Hunt, Wanda
Assistant affiliation coordinator
(804) 628-2086
wshunt@vcu.edu

Kanotra, Surbhi, C.C.R.P.
Regulatory coordinator
(804) 828-9457
kanotras@vcu.edu

Macaluso, Connie, L.C.S.W., N.C.C.
Clinical research social worker
(804) 628-2106
cmmacaluso@vcu.edu

Knight, Nikki
Clinical research associate I
(804) 628-0348 or pager *60--6751
nknight@vcu.edu

McFadden, Faith
Clinical research nurse coordinator
(804) 628-0161 or pager *60-6677
mcfaddenfr@vcu.edu

McKeown, Cindy E., R.N., B.S.N., M.P.A.
Clinical research nursing administrator
(804) 628-1893
pilarinosce@vcu.edu

Moulden, Robert
OnCore specialist
(804) 628-2682
rbmoulden@vcu.edu

Munson, Kit, R.N.
Clinical research nurse coordinator
(804) 628-4712 or pager *60-4559
munsonk@vcu.edu

Oakes, Travis
OnCore administrator
(804) 628-1920
toakes@vcu.edu

Parker, Gwendolyn, M.S., F.N.P.-C.
Clinical research nurse practitioner
(804) 828-5090 or pager *60-4245
ggparker@vcu.edu

Rafie, Carlin, Ph.D.
Clinical research affiliation coordinator
(804) 628-2680
crafie@vcu.edu

Rathbun, Angela
Clinical research associate I
(804) 628-1896 or pager *60-6723
rathbunat@vcu.edu

Roberts, Catherine, Ph.D.
Clinical research program manager
(804) 828-1292 or pager *60-6726
croberts4@mcvh-vcu.edu

Roberts, Courtney
Regulatory coordinator
(804) 628-2087
robertsac@mcvh-vcu.edu

Ropelewski, Jessica
Regulatory coordinator
(804) 628-0829
jmropelewski@vcu.edu

Scalora, Allison, M.S.
Clinical research coordinator
(804) 628-5373
afscalora@vcu.edu

Schirmer, Tricia
Regulatory coordinator
(804) 628-2135
tschirmer@vcu.edu

Scott, Jaime, R.N., O.C.N.
Clinical research nurse
(804) 628-1909 or pager 4764
jscott@vcu.edu

Sharp, Jennifer, C.C.R.P
Senior regulatory coordinator
(804) 828-0113
jpsharp@vcu.edu

Shrader, Ellen, C.C.R.P.
Project analyst
(804) 628-3746 or pager *60-2592
shraderee@vcu.edu

Singh, Amanda G., R.N., B.S.N., O.C.N.
Clinical research nurse coordinator
(804) 628-6430 or pager *60-4766
asingh3@vcu.edu

Skinner, Vicki, R.N., B.S.N.
Clinical research nurse coordinator
(804) 675-5646 or pager *60-4343
vicki.skinner@va.gov

Smith, Debbie, C.C.R.P.
Clinical research coordinator
(804) 628-1894 or pager *60-6734
dtsmith@vcu.edu

Smolenski, Terry, C.C.R.C.
Quality control auditor/DSMB coordinator
(804) 628-2142
tsmolenski@vcu.edu

Stoddert, Beth, M.A., C.C.R.P.
Clinical research associate II 
(804) 628-2164 or pager *60-7175
estoddert@vcu.edu

Strickler, Katie, R.N., B.S.N.
Clinical research nurse coordinator
(804) 628-0960 or pager *60-4775
stricklerkg@vcu.edu

Swann, Elizabeth, C.C.R.P.
Cancer prevention and control PRMC subcommittee coordinator
(804) 628-2313
easwann@vcu.edu

Thune, Rose, C.C.R.P.
Clinical research coordinator
(804) 628-1889 or pager *60-6998
rthune@mcvh-vcu.edu

Tombes, Mary Beth, R.N., M.N., A.O.C.N., C.C.R.C., A.C.N.P.-B.C.
Assistant director, early phase clinical research nursing
Clinical research nurse practitioner
(804) 628-1357 or pager *60-6013
mtombes@vcu.edu

Walker, Linda, C.C.R.P.
Clinical research coordinator
(804) 628-2204 or pager *60-7482
lwalker@mcvh-vcu.edu

Weir-Wiggins, Caryn, R.N., M.T. (A.S.C.P.), M.P.H.
Clinical research nurse coordinator
(804) 628-2310 or pager *60-4529
cwiggins@vcu.edu

Wellons, Martha, C.C.R.P.
Administrative director for clinical research
(804) 628-1939
mwellons@vcu.edu

Wilson, Christina, R.N., B.S.N.
Clinical research nurse
(804) 628-1930 or pager *60-4370
cwilson@vcu.edu

Wolber, Sharon, R.N.
(804) 828-5859 or pager *60-4905
sbwolber@vcu.edu

Wood, Cheryl, R.N., B.S.N., M.S.
Clinical research nurse coordinator
(804) 828-4549 or pager *60-4649
cvwood@vcu.edu

Wooten, Donna
Clinical research associate I
(804) 628-2681 or pager *60-7020
wootendfb@vcu.edu

Back to top

 

Auditing

Terry Smolenski, C.C.R.C.
Quality control auditor/DSMB coordinator
(804) 628-2142
tsmolenski@vcu.edu
MasseyDSMB@vcu.edu

Back to top

 

Bone marrow transplant

(804) 828-4360

Kathryn Candler, M.A.
Clinical research coordinator
(804) 828-4732 or pager *60-6405
kcandler@vcu.edu

Catherine Roberts, Ph.D.
Clinical research program manager
(804) 828-1292 or pager *60-6726
croberts4@mcvh-vcu.edu

Allison Scalora, M.S.
Clinical research coordinator
(804) 628-5373
afscalora@vcu.edu

Back to top

 

Breast cancer, a.k.a. “The Pink Team”

(804) 828-0450

Christina Wilson, R.N., B.S.N.
Clinical research nurse
(804) 628-1930 or pager *60-4370
cwilson@vcu.edu

Cheryl Wood, R.N., B.S.N., M.S.
Clinical research nurse coordinator
(804) 828-4549 or pager *60-4649
cvwood@vcu.edu

Kit Munson, R.N.
Clinical research nurse coordinator
(804) 628-4712 or pager *60-4559
munsonk@vcu.edu

Debbie Smith, C.C.R.P.
Clinical research coordinator
(804) 628-1894 or pager *60-6734
dtsmith@vcu.edu

Donna Wooten
Clinical research associate I
(804) 628-2681 or pager *60-7020
wootendfb@vcu.edu

Angela Rathbun
Clincal research associate I
(804) 628-1896 or pager *60-6723
rathbunat@vcu.edu

Back to top

 

Cancer prevention and control

(804) 828-0450

Gwendolyn Parker, M.S., F.N.P.-C.
Clinical research nurse practitioner
(804) 828-5090 or pager *60-4245 
ggparker@vcu.edu

Patricia Dodson, R.N., B.S.N., M.A., C.C.R.C.
Clinical research nurse coordinator
(804) 628-2582 or pager *60-4231
pwdodson@vcu.edu

Kristin Campbell
Senior clinical research coordinator
(804) 628-1914
klcampbell@vcu.edu

Alicia Grove
C
linical research associate I
(804) 628-1912
groveah@vcu.edu

Back to top

Clinical research affiliation network

MCRAFN@vcu.edu

Carlin Rafie, Ph.D.
Clinical research affiliation coordinator
(804) 628-2680
crafie@vcu.edu

Wanda Hunt
Clinical research affiliation coordinator assistant
(804) 628-2086
wshunt@vcu.edu

Back to top

Clinical research patient support services

Debbie L. Cadet, Ph.D., M.S.W.
Clinical research recruitment liaison
(804) 628-2364
dcadet@vcu.edu

Connie Macaluso, L.C.S.W., N.C.C.
Clinical research social worker
(804) 628-2106
cmmacaluso@vcu.edu

Phyllis Dennis
Insurance coordinator
(804) 828-9106
pdennis@vcu.edu

Back to top

 

Clinical trials management systems

Travis Oakes
OnCore administrator
(804) 628-1920
toakes@vcu.edu

Robert Moulden
OnCore specialist 
(804) 628-2682
rbmoulden@vcu.edu

Back to top

 

Gynecologic oncology

(804) 828-0450

Jane Baggett, R.N.
Clinical research nurse manager
(804) 628-2360 or pager *60-4315
jbaggett@mcvh-vcu.edu

Connie Brooks
Clinical research associate I
(804) 628-1953 or pager *60-2716
clbrooks@vcu.edu

Back to top

 

Hematologic malignancies, early phase and locally initiated

(804) 628-5006
Fax (804) 827-2026
MasseyHIIT@vcu.edu

Mary Beth Tombes, R.N., M.N., A.C.N.P.-B.C.
C
linical research nurse practitioner
(804) 628-1357 or pager *60-6013
mtombes@vcu.edu

Caryn Weir-Wiggins, R.N., M.T. (A.S.C.P.), M.P.H.
Clinical research nurse coordinator
(804) 628-2310 or pager *60-4529
cwiggins@vcu.edu

Amanda G. Singh, R.N., B.S.N., O.C.N.
Clinical research nurse coordinator
(804) 628-6430 or pager *60-4766
asingh3@vcu.edu

Ellen Shrader, C.C.R.P.
Project analyst
(804) 628-3746 or pager *60-2592
shraderee@vcu.edu

Beth Stoddert, M.A., C.C.R.P.
Clinical research associate II
(804) 628-2164 or pager *60-7175
estoddert@vcu.edu

April Dean
Clinical research associate I
(804) 628-5222 or pager *60-0737
deanad@vcu.edu

Back to top

 

Hematologic malignancies, cooperative group and industry

(804) 828-0450

Jaime Scott, R.N., O.C.N.
Clinical research nurse
(804) 628-1909 or pager *60-4764
jscott@vcu.edu

Antoinette Brown
Clinical research associate II
(804) 628-1886
abrown32@vcu.edu

Susan Byers
Clinical research associate I
(804) 628-1895
sfbyers@vcu.edu

Back to top

 

McGuire Veterans Affairs Medical Center

Vicki Skinner, R.N., B.S.N.
Clinical research nurse coordinator
(804) 675-5646 or pager *60-4343
vicki.skinner@va.gov

Karin L. DeLeon
Clinical research coordinator
(804) 675-5000, ext. 4838
karin.deleon@va.gov

Back to top

 

Neuro-oncology

(804) 828-9165

Diane Holdford, R.N., B.S.N., C.C.R.C.
Clinical research program manager
(804) 828-0296 or pager *60-4668
djholdfo@vcu.edu

Sharon Wolber, R.N.
(804) 828-5859 or pager *60-4905
sbwolber@vcu.edu

Back to top

 

Office for Clinical Research

(804) 828-0450

Charles Geyer, M.D.
Associate director for clinical research
(804) 628-1094
cegeyer@vcu.edu

Martha Wellons, C.C.R.P.
Administrative director for clinical research
(804) 628-1939
mwellons@vcu.edu

LaVern Hicks
Administrative assistant
(804) 628-1904
lhicks@vcu.edu

Back to top

 

Palliative care

(804) 828-0450 

Back to top

 

Pediatric oncology

(804) 628-1889
PedsOncReg@vcu.edu

Rose Thune, C.C.R.P.
C
linical research coordinator
(804) 628-1889 or pager *60-6998
rthune@mcvh-vcu.edu

Back to top

 

Protocol Review and Monitoring Committee (PRMC)

MasseyPRMS@vcu.edu

Harry D. Bear, M.D., Ph.D.
PRMC chair
hdbear@vcu.edu

Martha Wellons, C.C.R.P.
Administrative director for clinical research
(804) 628-1939
mwellons@vcu.edu

Julia Godek
Scientific review coordinator
(804) 628-8480
jlgodek@vcu.edu

Richard Brown, Ph.D.
Cancer prevention and control PRMC subcommittee chair
(804) 628-3340
rbrown39@vcu.edu

Elizabeth Swann, C.C.R.P.
Cancer prevention and control PRMC subcommittee coordinator
(804) 628-2313
easwann@vcu.edu

Back to top

 

Radiation oncology

MasseyRadOnc@vcu.edu

Diane Holdford, R.N., B.S.N., C.C.R.C.
Clinical research program manager
(804) 828-0296 or pager *60-4668
djholdfo@vcu.edu

Emily Gresock, R.N., B.S.N.
Clinical research nurse
(804) 628-2334 or pager *60-4743
eagresock@vcu.edu

Linda Walker, C.C.R.P.
Clinical research coordinator
(804) 628-2204 or pager *60-7482
lwalker@mcvh-vcu.edu

Cecelia Choi
Clinical research associate I
(804) 628-0742
choich2@vcu.edu

Back to top

 

Regulatory

MasseyIRB@vcu.edu

Catherine Brown, C.C.R.P.
Regulatory affairs and administrative manager
(804) 628-4931
crbrown@vcu.edu

Jennifer Sharp, C.C.R.P.
Senior regulatory coordinator
(804) 828-0113
jpsharp@vcu.edu

Patti Feldt
Senior regulatory coordinator
(804) 628-1902
pafeldt@vcu.edu

Courtney Roberts
Regulatory coordinator
(804) 628-2087
robertsac@mcvh-vcu.edu

Surbhi Kanotra, C.C.R.P.
Regulatory coordinator
(804) 828-9457
kanotras@vcu.edu

Tricia Schirmer
Regulatory coordinator
(804) 628-2135
tschirmer@vcu.edu

Jessica Ropelewski
Regulatory coordinator
(804) 628-0829
jmropelewski@vcu.edu

Back to top

 

Research nursing and data management

Cindy E. McKeown, R.N., B.S.N., M.P.A.
Clinical research nursing administrator
(804) 628-1893
pilarinosce@vcu.edu

Karen Forsythe

Administrative assistant
(804) 628-6435
kgforsythe@vcu.edu

Back to top

 

Solid tumors, early phase and locally initiated

(804) 828-0450

Nicole Knight
Clinical research associate I
(804) 628-0348
nknight@vcu.edu

Ellen Shrader, C.C.R.P.
Project analyst
(804) 628-3746 or pager *60-2592
shraderee@vcu.edu

Katie Strickler, R.N., B.S.N.
Clinical research nurse coordinator
(804) 628-0960 or pager *60-4775
stricklerkg@vcu.edu

Mary Beth Tombes, R.N., M.N., A.O.C.N., C.C.R.C., A.C.N.P.-B.C.
Assistant director, early phase clinical research nursing
Clinical research nurse practitioner
(804) 628-1357 or pager *60-6013
mtombes@vcu.edu

Back to top 

 

Solid tumors, cooperative group and industry

(804) 828-0450

Kristen Baker
Clinical research associate I
(804) 628-2341
kbaker2@vcu.edu

Back to top